Oscars 2010: Ben Stiller’s Na’vi Moment

  • Share
  • Read Later

Funny man Ben Stiller presented last night’s Oscar for Best Makeup with a blue paint job of his own. Though Avatar received very little Oscar love last night, taking home trophies in visual effects, cinematography and art direction only, Stiller at least brought us some Pandora-sized joy with his silly interpretation of the Na’vi. Military drama The Hurt Locker left the ceremony as the night’s big winner with six awards. (Read it: The Oscar Guide for Nerds)

What did you think of this year’s Oscars?

Academy Awards Winners 2010

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker

(More on Techland: The Avatar Oscar Paradox: A Breakthrough But Not Worthy of the Trophy)

Actor in a Leading Role: Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)

Actress in a Leading Role: Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)

Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

Actress in a Supporting Role: Mo’Nique (Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire)

Animated Feature Film: Pete Docter (Up)

(More on Techland: Q&A with Up Director Pete Docter)

Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair (Avatar)

Cinematography: Mauro Fiore (Avatar)

Costume Design: Sandy Powell (The Young Victoria)

Best Directing: Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

Documentary Feature: Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens (The Cove)

Documentary Short: Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett (Music by Prudence)

Film Editing: Bob Murawski and Chris Innis (The Hurt Locker)

Foreign Language Film: The Secret in Their Eyes (Directed by Juan José Campanella)

Make Up: Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow (Star Trek)

(More on Techland: National Board of Review Hails Star Trek as Best of ’09)

Original Score: Michael Giacchino (Up)

Original Song: The Weary Kind Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett (Crazy Heart)

Animated Short: Logorama by Nicolas Schmerkin

Live Action Short: The New Tenants by Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing: Paul N.J. Ottosson (The Hurt Locker)

Sound Mixing: Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett (The Hurt Locker)

Special Effects: Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones (Avatar)

(More on Techland: Is Avatar the New Star Wars?)

Adapted Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious)

Original Screenplay: Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker)