Marvel Comics Announce “Point One” Program

  • Share
  • Read Later

Want to get into Marvel Comics but have no idea where to start? Worry no more; Marvel have announced a new branding initiative to let fans and new readers alike know when it’s safe to start reading a series. Called “Marvel: Point One,” the program will identify good jumping-on points for readers by adding a “.1” after the issue number, and lowering the price to $2.99 for that particular issue. According to the official press release,

Beginning in February 2011, select Marvel comic series marked with a “.1” after the issue number feature full-length, self-contained stories by Marvel’s top creators, laying the groundwork for the next year of storylines… Each Marvel: Point One issue of the associated series not only begin major new storylines, but also seamlessly introduces new readers into the dynamic Marvel Universe and its popular super heroes.

The first three months’ worth of Point One branding will include eleven comics in total, including Invincible Iron Man, Captain America, Avengers, Hulk and Uncanny X-Men. Marvel promises a “huge marketing push” for the program.

More On Techland:

Tron Invades The Marvel Universe In December

Marvel Releases Masterplan For Next Few Years – Kind Of